1990, Music

Rust in Peace (1990) by Megadeth

I have listened to a fair amount of Metallica and so I guess that instantly puts me in a “hey, Megadeth doesn’t sound like Metallica?” mindset which isn’t helpful.

I feel like there is more of an emphasis on precision in this band, than the heaviness plus precision of some other bands of the era. Rust in Peace is a little too clean for me, I think. But that’s not to say there’s something wrong with the record; I feel like, had I gotten into this early in my metal-listening career, I might have been a little more into it than I am right now.

It’s clearly a well done record, despite my issues with Mustaine’s voice – I gather it’s an acquired taste – and his lyrics, which are, um, problematic. Everything is very professional and they are awesome players. But there’s something missing here that’s only hinted at – and that’s variety and ambition. There are hints – such as the acoustic guitar break in the opening track – but there are only hints. I prefer my metal a little more diverse, and I feel like, this far into thrash, growing couldn’t hurt.

All of this is sounding really negative and I don’t mean it to. This is very well done. But if this is their best album, I’m not sure how interested I am in checking out the rest of their catalogue. Don’t think it’s for me.


All songs written and composed by Dave Mustaine, except where noted.

  1. “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due” 6:36
  2. “Hangar 18” 5:14
  3. “Take No Prisoners” 3:28
  4. “Five Magics” 5:42
  5. “Poison Was the Cure” 2:58
  6. “Lucretia” (Mustaine, David Ellefson) 3:58
  7. “Tornado of Souls” Mustaine, Ellefson 5:22
  8. “Dawn Patrol” (Ellefson) 1:50
  9. “Rust in Peace… Polaris” 5:36
  • Dave Mustaine – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • David Ellefson – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Marty Friedman – lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Nick Menza – drums, backing vocals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.