1993, Music

On the Mouth (1993) by Superchunk

By reputation, I always thought No Pocky for Kitty was the Superchunk album to listen to. Then I listened to it and, though I appreciated why people like it, I didn’t love. I see the RYM rating is higher for this one. I think I know why. I mean, maybe I know why.

Superchunk play an appealingly energetic and noisy version of power pop, filtered through hardcore punk (so it’s way noisier than the skate punk being made at the same time, thank science).

But when I first heard them, they seemed to one-note for me. (Also, I prefer my post hardcore noisier and weirder.)

But I don’t know if this record is more diverse or I’ve changed in a year or so, but this record sounds more varied to my ears than I remember them sounding on their most famous record, the aforementioned No Pocky for Kitty. That’s not to say they’re diverse – they’re not – but relatively speaking, there are different approaches within the noise pop spectrum. I appreciate that. I find it a lot easier to like a band that plays a genre of music I don’t necessarily love when there’s some variety. (Think of Superchunk as a way, way noisier Sloan. Maybe.)

Maybe it’s just that songs are stronger, or the band is more competent. I honestly don’t know. I just know that I re-read my old review to No Pocky for Kitty and my reaction was very different. So, hooray for that.

  1. “Precision Auto” – 2:46
  2. “From the Curve” – 3:18
  3. “For Tension” – 2:59
  4. “Mower” – 3:45
  5. “Package Thief” – 2:28
  6. “Swallow That” – 6:14
  7. “I Guess I Remembered It Wrong” – 3:33
  8. “New Low” – 3:20
  9. “Untied” – 4:12
  10. “The Question is How Fast” – 4:06
  11. “Trash Heap” – 3:25
  12. “Flawless” – 2:33
  13. “The Only Piece That You Get” – 2:41
  • Mac McCaughan: Vocals, guitar
  • Laura Ballance: Bass, vocals
  • Jim Wilbur: Guitar
  • Jon Wurster: Drums


  • Released: February 10, 1993
  • Recorded: September 14–20, 1992
  • Studio: West Beach Studios, Hollywood, California
  • Genre: Indie rock
  • Length: 45:20
  • Label: Matador
  • Producers: John Reis, Superchunk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.