1998, Music

Version 2.0 (1998) by Garbage

Though I feel like Garbage songs were everywhere when I was in High School, I honestly don’t remember too many of them. (A couple here are sort of ringing some bells, I guess.) So I was genuinely surprised when I listened to the record and then I decided the title must have something to do with a change in style, only to find out that no, this is what Garbage sounded like. (I do not remember this.)

What is that sound? It’s basically post-grunge gone dance. Like so much post-grunge, there are traces of alternative rock: distortion, occasional squealing guitars (just soft enough as to not bother you), enough attitude to convince the mainstream, and confessional lyrics that are dark enough to fit in the times, but everything is immaculately produced and nothing is out of place, as you would expect.

But the big distinction with basically all other post-grunge – and the thing that helps elevate this above most post-grunge – is the heavy electronic music/dance influence. Yes, as others have noted, this record sounds sooooooooooo ’90s, but at least it’s distinct from all the other bands that were trying to sound “alternative” in the mid and late ’90s but didn’t want to commit to actually being alternative.

Also, Manson is a compelling performer with a strong sense of melody – a coupe of these songs are really catchy – so that helps too.


All tracks written by Garbage, except where noted.

  1. “Temptation Waits” 4:36
  2. “I Think I’m Paranoid” 3:38
  3. “When I Grow Up” 3:23
  4. “Medication” 4:06
  5. “Special” 3:43
  6. “Hammering in My Head” 4:52
  7. “Push It” 4:02
  8. “The Trick Is to Keep Breathing” 4:11
  9. “Dumb” 3:50
  10. “Sleep Together” 4:03
  11. “Wicked Ways” 3:43
  12. “You Look So Fine” 5:25
  • Shirley Manson – vocals, guitar, samples
  • Duke Erikson – guitar, keyboards
  • Steve Marker – guitar, loops
  • Butch Vig – drums, percussion, loops
  • Daniel Shulman – bass


  • Jon J. Vriesacker – violin
  • Michael Masley – cymbalom
  • Todd Malcolm Michiles – record scratching (on “I Think I’m Paranoid”)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.