1998, Music

Angels with Dirty Faces (1998) by Tricky

Note: For reasons I can only guess at, the version of this record I streamed on Google Play was missing the first two tracks but I didn’t notice until my final listen. Oops! (Maybe this is the google equivalent of when you were ripping a CD and the ripping program didn’t communicate with your disc drive quickly enough and didn’t rip the first track.) I am reviewing it anyway.

I don’t know what it is about the British version of hip hop, but I like it better than American hip hop. That is really weird but my feelings like have to do with how much American music I have come to enjoy through British interpreters (rock and roll, blues, etc). The Brits bring something to American music that regularly gives me an entry point which I wouldn’t necessarily have with American music. (That’a s guess.)

So here I am listening to Tricky, and partly because of how trip hop it is (rather than hip hop) and partly because of his delivery, and partly because of who knows what, I’m not registering his music the way I would normally register American hip hop; that is, as Rap, music that I may at times respect but definitely do not like. Tricky doesn’t sound like Rap to me, though he doesn’t sing, and so the knots I get into with hip hop haven’t occurred.

I don’t know that I can say anything about this that would actually be edifying for you, but I can say that I like it, and it makes me want to listen to his other records. (I like this better than the Massive Attack record from this year, shock! horror!)


1. “Money Greedy” 5:30
2. “Mellow” 3:33
3. “Singing the Blues” 3:27
4. “Broken Homes” (with PJ Harvey) 3:34
5. “6 Minutes” 4:46
6. “Analyze Me” 4:00
7. “The Moment I Feared” 4:03
8. “Talk to Me (Angels with Dirty Faces)” 4:28
9. “Carriage for Two” 4:44
10. “Demise” 3:48
11. “Tear out My Eyes” 4:26
12. “Record Companies” 4:22
13. “Peyote Sings” (bonus track) 5:01
14. “Taxi” (bonus track) 3:55

Try to make sense of these credits…

  • Drums – Perry Melius (tracks: 1, 5, 6, 9 to 11)
  • Engineer – Ethan Allen (tracks: 2, 6, 8, 10 to 12)
  • Engineer – Jack Hersca (tracks: 2 to 4, 6 to 12)
  • Assistant engineer – Chipman Verspyck (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 9 to 12), Mark Fraunfelder (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 8 to 10), Serge Tsai
  • Guitar – Scott Ian (tracks: 1, 5, 9 to 12)
  • Keyboards, Producer, Photography By [Palaroid], Illustration – Tricky
  • Mastered By – Howie Weinberg
  • Mixed By – Susan Rogers (tracks: 2, 3, 5 to 12), Tricky (tracks: 2 to 12)
  • Vocals – Martina Topley-Bird (tracks: 3, 5, 6, 8 to 10), Tricky (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 12)
  • Pete Briquette – bass
  • Gareth Bowen – keyboards
  • Jack Hersca – bass, guitar
  • Jane Scarpantoni – cello
  • Gene Lake, Calvin Weston – drums
  • Lorenza Ponce – violin
  • Marc Ribot, Patrice Serapiglia – guitar
  • Doug Wieselman – flute
  • Greg Cohen – double bass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.