1879, 1880, 1893, 2009, Music

Dvorak: Violin Concerto, Sonata and Sonatina (2009) by Jack Liebeck

This is a good summary of Dvorak’s violin music. Dvorak isn’t my favourite, but I enjoy him enough. As usual, I cannot really comment on the performance and how it relates to other performances as this is the first time I have heard these pieces. But the sound is good and Jack Liebeck sounds like he knows what he is doing.


Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53 (B.108) (9/10)

Dvorak’s violin concerto has to be one of the most iconic in the repertoire. The second movement in particular I have heard way too many times.  It’s fine high romantic melodic stuff.

  1. Allegro Ma non troppo – Quasi Moderato
  2.  Adagio, Ma non Troppo
  3. Finale: Allegro Giocoso Ma non Troppo
  • Jack Liebeck: Violin
  • Royal Scottish National Orchestra conducted by Garry Walker

Violin Sonata in F major (B.33) (7/10)

Dvorak’s violin sonata is not one of the main works for the instrument and I guess that’s a combination of a lack of memorable melody and the general conservativeness of the work compared to what came later.

It really is a pleasing piece, but I understand why people don’t really remember it.

  1. Allegro, Ma non Troppo
  2. poco Sostenuto
  3. Allegro Molto
  • Jack Liebeck: Violin
  • Katya Apekisheva: Piano

Sonatina in G major for violin and piano, Op. 100, B. 183 (8/10)

The sonatina begins with one of those melodies you have heard before; it’s instantly recognizable. It sounds just about classical to my ears, and I don’t know if that is because my ears are wrong or what.

But I think it’s probably one of the more iconic works for violin of the second half of the 19th century. I would just say that it’s a touch too conservative for my personal tastes.

  1. Allegro Risoluto
  2. Larghetto
  3. Scherzo: Molto Vivace
  4. Finale: Allegro Molto
  • Jack Liebeck: Violin
  • Katya Apekisheva: Piano

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.