1987, Music

Earth Sun Moon (1987) by Love and Rockets

I love Bauhaus and, initially, I think I found it hard to get into these guys simply because they are not Bauhaus, which is unfair.
It’s unfair because these guys are very much their own band, particularly with the wind instruments. (By the way, that flute solo is hilariously Ian Anderson, who I would have thought was super uncool in 1987.)

The songs are pretty good but they are definitely uplifted by the arrangements, which vary considerably from song to song, and which contain a wider variety of musical instruments and ideas than I’m used to from a British alternative rock band in 1987.

But I still don’t love this like I love Bauhaus. This is just pretty decent ’80s alternative rock. I appreciate the variety but I could use a stronger set of songs or perhaps a little bit less of the weaker (briefer) songs which aren’t exactly filler, but which are basically only enjoyable due to the variety of their arrangements.

Still not bad at all.


All tracks written by Love and Rockets.

  1. “Mirror People” – 4:05
  2. “The Light” – 4:16
  3. “Welcome Tomorrow” – 3:36
  4. “No New Tale to Tell” – 3:26
  5. “Here on Earth” – 3:10
  6. “Lazy” – 3:12
  7. “Waiting for the Flood” – 3:38
  8. “Rain Bird” – 3:17
  9. “The Telephone Is Empty” – 3:59
  10. “Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven” – 5:13
  11. “Earth, Sun, Moon” – 3:34
  12. “Youth” – 4:42
  13. “Mirror People (Slow Version)” – 4:26
  • Daniel Ash – guitar, saxophone, and vocals
  • David J – bass and vocals
  • Kevin Haskins – drums and synthesizers


  • Released 9 September 1987
  • Length: 49:55
  • Label: Beggars Banquet, Big Time
  • Producer Derek “Guru” Tompkins, Love and Rockets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.