1982, Music

A Kiss in the Dreamhouse (1982) by Siouxsie and the Banshees

I am really big fan of JuJu for many of the same reasons I like this record: there’s this balance between the dark. “gothic” lyrics and Siouxsie Sioux’s vocals, and the often shimmering neo-psychedelic guitar and sound effects. But I definitely get a sense of deja vu.

And I get that sense even though this album is ostensibly the band’s most experimental, both according to critics and to the band members themselves.

‘Experimental’ should be used in a relative sense here because though what they with the organs and pipes and bells and things is weird for them, it’s hardly weird for other neo-psychedelic bands, or other post punk bands, or what have you.

But that doesn’t mean the album is unsuccessful; far from it. Even though the record does sound a little too much like JuJu to me, the weird departures from their sound are enough to keep me interested. Moreover, I think the set of songs is particularly strong for them: one of the songs is one of their catchiest ever and there are a few that standout as mong their better songs.

So despite its reputation as the self-consciously experimental album, it’s a strong set of songs and still different enough from JuJu to be interesting.


Read my reviews of music from 1982 or read all my reviews of albums by the Banshees.

All lyrics written by Siouxsie Sioux, except where noted; all music composed by Sioux, Steven Severin, John McGeoch, Budgie.

  1. “Cascade” (Severin) 4:25
  2. “Green Fingers” 3:33
  3. “Obsession” 3:51
  4. “She’s a Carnival” (Severin) 3:39
  5. “Circle” 5:22
  6. “Melt!” (Severin) 3:47
  7. “Painted Bird” 4:15
  8. “Cocoon” 4:29
  9. “Slowdive” 4:24
  • Siouxsie Sioux – vocals, bells on “Obsession”, production
  • Steven Severin – bass guitar, six-string bass guitar on “Slowdive”, organ on “Painted Bird”, production
  • John McGeoch – guitar, keyboards on “Cocoon”, “Circle” and “Cascade”, recorder on “Green Fingers”, production
  • Budgie – drums, percussion, harmonica on “Slowdive”, production
  • Caroline Lavelle – cello on “Obsession”
  • Anne Stephenson – violin on “Obsession” and “Slowdive”
  • Virginia Hewes – violin on “Obsession” and “Slowdive”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.